Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

Office of the Provost

Frequently Used Tools:

Committees and Their Charges

Committees and Their Charges

Enrollment Management Committee

The purpose of the Enrollment Management Committee is to discuss, develop, monitor, and evaluate all aspects relating to the recruitment, retention, graduation, and support of students at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. This committee is advisory to the Provost and is charged with achieving our institution’s desired enrollment (in quantity and quality) and improving student life and learning to ensure student success.

» Committee membership & subcommittees and task forces

Provost's Junior Faculty Fellows

The Provost’s Junior Faculty Fellows is a group that consists of outstanding tenure-track faculty members who advise the Provost and Vice Provosts on all aspects of faculty life. In particular, they provide insight into the lives and perspectives of our newest faculty members and help us frame initiatives to support faculty development and success.

» Committee membership

Provost's Student Advisory Council

The Provost’s Student Advisory Council is comprised of a strong and diverse cohort of undergraduate students. Ideally, these students have served or are currently serving on their dean’s student council or are knowledgeable about their college and university issues and involved in activities on both levels. This group advises the Provost and her staff on a wide variety of issues relating to their experience and success as students at UT.

» Committee membership

Global Action Committee (Ready for the World)

The leadership and direction of the Ready for the World initiative is comprised of a dual committee structure. A small Executive Committee ensures that the various tasks associated with the initiative are completed. A larger Steering Committee brings forward new ideas and proposals for consideration, assists in carrying these out, and otherwise guides the effort of RFTW. The goal of RFTW governance is to move towards a distributed and integrated effort to support the goals of RFTW within the existing structures of the university.

» Committee membership

SAIS Working Group

The purpose of the SAIS Working Group is to review and provide recommendations to the Provost regarding the instrument used to evaluate teaching at the university.

» Committee membership

Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee reports to the Provost and is charged to study and report on university-wide issues relating to science and engineering.  The primary work of the committee has related to the process of searching for, interviewing, and hiring Governor’s Chairs, joint faculty positions between the University of Tennessee and Oak Ridge National Laboratory.  Search committees in specific areas of opportunity are established by the Provost after consultation with the SAC and then report progress on finding GC candidates to the SAC.  Approval of a GC candidate by the Scientific Advisory Committee is required before the candidate can be interviewed and considered for hiring.  Decisions on hiring of a Governor’s Chair are made by leaders of the university and the national laboratory.  Membership on the SAC comes from the scientific and engineering leadership of UT and ORNL, and the Provost appoints the members.

» Committee membership

Service-Learning Steering Committee

The Service-Learning Steering Committee was developed as part of a central effort to increase the level of consistency and alignment in our approach to service-learning across campus. This work is informed by our Top 25 Undergraduate Education commitment areas and our institutional application for the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching’s 2015 Community Engagement designation. Priorities of the group include increasing the level of consistency and alignment in our approach to service-learning across campus, creating opportunities to incentivize it for faculty, and advancing it as part of our academic culture at UT.

» Committee membership

Special Considerations Admissions Committee

» Committee membership